Which level of study is right for me?

You can study at almost any level at Bradford College, so it can be tricky to know which is right for you.

This table shows the progression routes through different levels.

Current level of educationYou can studyCourses
Secondary Education (school)Pre-entry levelGCSE
No or low-level GCSEsEntry levelEntry Level 1, 2 or 3
English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)
At least two GCSES at grade 2 to 1 (E to F)Level 1Level 1 Award/Certificate/Diploma
Introductory Diploma
NVQ Level 1
At least two GCSEs at grade 9 to 3 (A to D)Level 2GCSE
Level 2 Certificate/Diploma
Level 2 Apprenticeship
NVQ Level 2
Five GCSEs at grades 9 to 4 (A to C)Level 3A-levels
Level 3 Certificate/Diploma
NVQ Level 3
Level 3 Access to Higher Education
Level 3 Apprenticeship
Level 3 Diploma
NVQ Level 3
Level 3 Access to Higher Education
Levels 4 to 7Higher National Certificate (HNC)
Higher National Diploma (HND)
Foundation Degree
Higher Apprenticeship
DegreeLevels 7 to 8Postgraduate degree / Masters

Your Course and Career Progression (pdf)

Helping hand

No matter which level or area you study, we want you to reach your full potential.

Don’t worry if you don’t meet the exact entry requirements on the course page – we’ll look at your own situation and find the right programme for you.

If you don’t have at least a grade 4 or C in GCSE English or Maths when you start your course, we’ll put these subjects in your timetable.

We use cookies on this website to enhance your user experience For a complete overview of all cookies used please see your personal preferences

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.