Skip to main content
Bradford College

ICT Systems Support

Qualification Gained
BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Information Technology (System Support)
Study Level
Level 3
Course Type
School Leavers
2 years
Start Date
September 2024
Study Mode
David Hockney Building


The Extended Diploma in IT course allows students to gain an insight into Computer architecture, Networks, Systems Support, Cloud Computing, Virtualisation and Cyber Security. The IT Infrastructure course will help to develop your critical thinking and vocational skills.

Throughout the course, our links with industry will help you to develop a greater awareness of professional practices in preparation for your work placement within a local IT Service Provider. You will learn a core set of technical skills aligned to leading vendors, which are increasingly sought after within the IT sector.

This course is equivalent to three A levels and is an excellent opportunity to specialise in a computing discipline and enter Higher Education afterwards.

  Key Info

This two-year course is designed to enable students to take their first step into the IT industry or progress to Higher Education.

Students will complete 8 units in the first year of their course and a further 9 units in the second year.

Modules covered include:

  • Computer Networks
  • Cyber Security
  • Cloud Computing
  • Virtualisation
  • Managing a Project
  • Mobile Technologies
  • The Internet of Everything
  • Computer Systems
  • IT Technical Support

The course uses a wide range of learning methods with a focus on practical workshops. These are designed to allow you to develop your skills and knowledge in a supportive environment.

Additionally, although contact hours are tutor and group-based, independent learning is increasingly developed throughout the course, and actively encouraged for your personal development; use of problem-based exercises and relevant scenarios aid this process.

Entry to this course requires 4 GCSEs at grade 9-4 or A*-C, including GCSE English and Maths or an equivalent full Level 2 IT qualification at Merit grade, plus GCSE English and Maths at Grade 4 or C or above.

English and/or Maths will be included in your timetable if you have not achieved a GCSE at grade 4 or above in these subjects when you start your course.

You will be assessed throughout the course using: written assignments, practical assessments and 4 examined Units.

Students will be required to take part in work experience at a local employer.

Successful completion of the course can lead to progression to higher education, join apprenticeship schemes or employment within the IT Industry.

If you are 16 to 18 years old you won’t have to pay tuition fees. If you’re 19 or older you may need to pay a fee.

This is representative of the most common fees scenario, but actual fees can vary depending on a number of factors. Please contact us if you need more guidance.

If you have any questions or require any additional information, please contact [email protected]

Disclaimer: Our prospectus, college documents and website are simply here to offer a guide. We accept no liability for any inaccurate statements and are not responsible for any negative outcomes if you rely on an inaccurate statement. We reserve the right to withdraw any programmes or service at any time.