This year’s Graduation ceremonies continue the tradition of awarding an Honorary Fellowship at each event.

The award of Honorary Fellow is the highest accolade that the college can bestow to acknowledge individuals distinguished by their outstanding contribution to their fields, the College or the City of Bradford.

The earliest recipients were the Earl of Athlone KG in 1933 and Lord Harewood KG in 1935.

The scheme continued until the 1980’s when former cabinet minister Barbara Castle was among those honoured.

This important tradition was reinstated in 2011, when an Honorary Fellowship was conferred at each Graduation Ceremony as part of our celebration of excellence.

2015 Honorary Fellows

Daryl GoodrichPeter LaytonMick Manning
Daryl GoodrichPeter Layton  Mick Manning
Mohammed TajHarold ‘Dickie’ Bird OBE
Mohammed TajHarold ‘Dickie’ Bird OBE

2016 Honorary Fellows

College students, staff, alumni and Corporation members have nominated candidates for the Honorary Fellowships to be conferred in November 2016. These have been considered by the Honorary Fellows Approvals Committee and received the consent of the College Corporation in July.