College invites public nominations for Honorary Fellows

Bradford College is inviting public nominations for Honorary Fellows

Bradford College is calling on the people of Bradford to nominate potential honorary fellows.

College bosses want to hear from the general public suggestions of who they think should receive the highest honour the educational establishment can bestow on an individual.

Every year, at the graduation ceremonies for its University Centre, the College awards honorary fellowships to a select number of well-deserving candidates who have made an outstanding contribution to their fields, to the College or to the city of Bradford. It is intended they will provide role models and inspiration to the graduating students.

The 2016 recipients included rugby pioneers Ikram Butt, the first British Asian Muslim to represent England at either code of rugby and Saima Hussain, the first Muslim woman to play rugby league for Yorkshire and England. Simon Atkin, the former chief superintendent of West Yorkshire Police was also recognised along with renowned costumier and fashion designer Ruth Caswell and prize-winning inventor Emily Cummins.

Legendary cricket umpire Harold ‘Dickie’ Bird OBE, TV star Harry Gration, actress Gaynor Faye and her screenwriter mother Kay Mellor OBE plus the late Labour politician Barbara Castle are among other illustrious figures to have earlier been recognised by the College in this way.

Traditionally, students, staff, alumni and members of the College’s governing body have nominated candidates. But this year it has been decided to throw the process open to the wider public.

Anyone wishing to make a nomination can do so now by completing the online form on the College website. Details of who is eligible to nominate and be nominated, the selection criteria and a full list of past recipients can also be found on the website.

Alternatively, the form can be printed off and submitted by post to Joanna Green, Bradford College, Great Horton Road, Bradford, West Yorkshire BD7 1AY 

The closing date for nominations is Friday February 17. The College’s Search Committee will then make the final decisions on who will receive the 2017 fellowships. 

Category:  About Us